Sudden Death: book of the week

Sudden Death This week’s book was Sudden Death by David Rosenfelt. I’m keeping the reading on the light side while I’m taking classes. Between reading for classes and doing homework, Mind-Like-Water is threatening to become Mind-Like-Sieve.

I was attracted to this series for the simple fact that the cover of one of the books featured a dog. I’m a sucker for books with dogs, no matter how slight the reference. In my defense, I checked out reader reviews before actually making a purchase. Even so, I find that I’m guilty of reading this series out of order, having read Dead Center first (which should have followed Sudden Death). I managed to keep track of everything just fine, however.

As with too many mysteries lately, I had the who-dunnit figured about mid-way through, but enjoyed the characters too much to care, Overall, the novel was pretty tightly plotted for what was still a “relaxed” read, with just the right level of humor and cynicism. I think this would make a decent TV series. A kind of Perry Mason meets Eureka, maybe.

Or maybe not.

Leave a Reply

