Once Were Cops – Ken Bruen

Once Were CopsThis is my first Ken Bruen. I enjoyed the style: stark noir, without all the description. A number of scenes packed a real emotional whallop and surprised me, considering I was reading about characters for who I had no empathy whatsoever. My take is that Shea, Rodriguez and Kebar were all serial killers; Rodriguez and Kebar operated within the cover of the job whereas Shea didn’t bother. Rodriguez killed Nora just to mess with Shea’s head. I think Rodriguez is without doubt the most dangerous and unstoppable of the three: a sociopath who blends. Anybody read Martha Stout’s The Sociopath Next Door? I’ve worked with people like that. No, I’m not in law enforcement–I’m in the automotive industry. LOL! Despite popular fiction, not all sociopaths kill; some enjoy other methods of decimating people’s lives and enjoy watching them grieve their losses. And when sociopaths realize they’ve been recognized it can get a little eerie…

The ending felt somehow oddly rushed, however. I can’t explain why, but it just felt it was simply, suddenly, over.If it were film, I’d chalk it up to the studio planning a franchise. Still, recommended.

2 Comments

  1. David Thompson said,

    July 27, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Hi! ONCE WERE COPS is great… also try the stand-alones AMERICAN SKIN and LONDON BOULEVARD, all of the Jack Taylor & Brant series, and one of my personal favorites, A TIME FOR SERENA-MAY (collected in A FIFTH OF BRUEN). And coming next month: TOWER (written with Reed Farrel Coleman)! Bruen is a true orginal. 🙂

  2. Thea said,

    July 27, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Thanks for the heads up. I'll check them out!


Leave a Reply

